Redefining My Business/ Lakeland Photographer

13 Jan

As I launch my new website, it dawns on me that now is the time to change my logo, make a tag line, and redefine my work. But it is hard to be objective! I would love your help!

I have selected all the pictures from my portfolio that are my favorites and I feel reflect my style the best. I have taken some of those and put them together in a collage to see what you guys think. What words come to mind? What do you think of my photos?  Do the images evoke certain feelings? I value your input! Please take the time to leave a comment and tell me what you think!!!

There is a surprise for those who do… scroll down.

 

Every person who comments will be entered to win a free accordion mini album from a past or future shoot! As soon as 25 people comment, I will pick and announce a winner. Thanks to everyone who enters!

 

 

UPDATE: Thanks, everyone for giving ideas, suggestions and encouragement. I was overwhelmed with all the wonderful things you have said! Thank you, everyone!

20 Responses to “Redefining My Business/ Lakeland Photographer”

  1. Ashley Dzadek January 13, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Here’s some adjectives that come to mind – could be for a tag line perhaps:
    Timeless, classic, custom, original, defining, creative, artistic, personal

  2. Heidi del Corral January 13, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    Karissa, when I see your collage I think of fun and adventures… a celebration of life in it of itself being captured. The children, the tummies, the weddings, the tickles and laughter. The fun adventure of life.

  3. chrissynoelle January 14, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    A hip, urban feel with funky style and flair!

  4. ANGELA FLOYD January 14, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    Your perception of life shows in your photos, You have such a love for life, It comes through in your portraits you take, Your photos are nothing I have ever previously ever known Your photos envoke an Feeling of an exciting Journey, The journey of life that we all hope to partake in, and in your photos you capture the joys that life has to offer all of us one way or another .

  5. Charlene January 14, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Capturing the big and little moments of life.
    And don’t change your logo I like the K and the detail to it.

  6. Nicki LaBarr January 14, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    When looking at the collage it makes me think of something along the lines of …”Transforming Your Life into Art” or “Life Unedited” or “Life Captured”….something like that!

  7. Jenna Smith January 14, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Capturing Life by bringing life into pictures….. At my shoot I felt like visionary really fit you, all the creative stuff is a given seeing its what you do. I think you rise above your fears and tackle any obstacles to get the great shots. Wether it be on top of a train or dragging props into play on location : ) Your willingness to adapt to the situation and collaborate with your clients makes you totally awesome! Here are just a few things I could think of:
    Capturing memories that speak for themselvess
    Life in the moment
    It’s all in the details
    Capturing Life by bringing life into picture
    Life’s poem in pictures
    You are great and I’ll know you’ll reach where you aim! I’ll keep thinking but feel free to use any of this : )

  8. jendan04 January 14, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    Captured moments

  9. Sarah LaVallee-Woods January 14, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    dramatic, elegant, exquisite, imaginative

  10. Sarah LaVallee-Woods January 14, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    dramatic, elegant, exquisite, imaginative

    (sorry if this posts twice… it doesn’t look like it posted the first time so I am re posting it)

  11. Joy January 14, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Making moments memories (I tried to come up with some “k” words to describe your style, but they were all actually “c” words, so I don’t think you’d want to use things like klassy and kontemporary) :-)

  12. Mark January 14, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Your work is really exquisite Karissa.

    Some words that come to mind (besides exquisite):
    cinematic, artistic, candid, contemporary, intimate, affirming, natural, relaxed, comfortable, poetic, dramatic, personal, original, unique, observational, evocative, perceptive, fun

    I hope that helps.

  13. Lee Anne Roquemore January 14, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    You definitely capture precious moments in photographs that I can’t seem to describe with words. Though I will try…
    Your photos are so unique & personal. Each one is gripping in its originality & creativity. In many of your photos, you’re able to brilliantly capture the essence of your subject.. their personality & creativity. I love it! For me, the emotion evoked is an overall warmth – and in so many of the photos, pure joy.

    Much love to you – we have LOVED all our photos from our sessions with you. :D

  14. Jennifer S January 14, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    This is what I put on FB – Bright, natural, bold, inventive yet classic

    And as I thought more about really how wide your style range is, it occurred to me, that really, you take the pictures that best suit the subject. You capture the personality and style of each family or individual with your best shots. Plus you are a ton of fun to work with!

  15. Drew Arnold January 14, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Honesty, illuminating, jewels, reflections, beauty, natural

    Them be my WORDS!

  16. Drew Arnold January 14, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    I think natural… is a winner. :)

  17. Jenna Smith January 15, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    OK I got it. K. Barber Photography a Reflection of Life.

  18. Aimee McCroskey January 18, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Real. Beautiful. Honest. Capturing the true moments of life.

    I liked that you lead a busy, REAL life, have kids and a husband and understand that others do too. You were so patient working with us and so accommodating and understanding through all of the obstacles we faced! : )

  19. Amy Dearie January 19, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Capturing life the way you live it.

  20. Donna Kahelin January 19, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Okay so I did not read the other comments, I might repeat others sentiments. But I would say that your style is innovative, active and accommodating. I appreciate that your creative eye still gives the subject the opportunity to be themselves, even if they are not cooperative. I wanted to also let you know that your work made a very wonderful Christmas gift for my mother and the look on her face was worth all the hard work you did for me.
    Oh and I really do like the new site.

Comments are closed.

